

Celebrating 100 Years of Musical Connections 1924-2024

ESTELLA HILLERSOHN FRANKEL FUND 2025 VIOLIN SCHOLARSHIP COMPETITION

Total Prize Amount to be Awarded: Up to \$1,000

Application Due Date: Saturday, March 22, 2025, by 6:00 p.m.

(include \$25 non-refundable application fee & back of form)

Audition Date: Sunday, May 4, 2025, 9:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. at the Concert Hall, Wilmington

Students will be notified of their audition times two weeks before the audition.

Accompanist: Students must arrange for their own accompanists

The Estella Hillersohn Frankel Scholarship Fund was established in 1982 to promote and advance the study of violin. A grant or grants will be made annually to recipient(s) chosen by the panel of judges. The grant(s) will be made for an enrichment program or opportunity for a violinist or violinists. Opportunities such as (but not limited to) the following will be considered: workshops, master classes, music camps, chamber music, large ensemble, music theory, etc. The scholarship is for an enrichment opportunity and, for this reason, private lessons and instrument purchases or maintenance are not eligible for funding. The competition is open to both students of the Music School and outside students.

Eligibility & Competition Rules:

- The student does not have to be enrolled at the Music School;
- Student must: a) reside in or study the violin in Delaware; or b) reside within 15 miles of the Delaware border;
- Student must be 10 years old but not older than 17 years old on March 22, 2025;
- First prize winners (including those who have tied for first place) may not compete in the immediate year following their win;
- The student must perform two contrasting pieces by different composers. Total audition length will be 10 minutes:
- Three copies of the music must be provided for the judges;
- Concerti must be memorized; other works may be played with music;
- Students must arrange for their own accompanists. The Music School does not supply an accompanist for the Estella Hillersohn Frankel Violin Scholarship. However, if a Music School student is also auditioning for a Merit Scholarship (these auditions are on the same day as the Frankel Competition), the student may use the provided accompanist for the Frankel audition;
- Audition time cannot be guaranteed;
- The decision of the judges will be final. The winner(s) will be announced as soon as possible after the competition;
- Failure to meet deadlines will disqualify applicants.

Application Process

- Students must complete the following application materials:
- Application form, signed by violin teacher;
- Brief statement of musical goals and intended use of scholarship, at least one paragraph long but not longer than the reverse side of the application form;
- \$25 non-refundable application fee (checks payable to The Music School of Delaware);

• Student should submit the completed application materials to his/her violin teacher, who must sign the application form and hand-deliver or mail the materials to:

The Music School of Delaware Attn: Estella Hillersohn Frankel Scholarship Competition 4101 Washington Street, Wilmington, DE 19802

• Completed applications must be received by 6:00 p.m., Saturday, March 22, 2025.

Winner's Requirements:

- The grant must be used by the recipient for an enrichment project for violin study (i.e. chamber music, workshop, music theory, music camp, etc.) but cannot be used for private lessons or for instrument purchase or maintenance;
- The grant must be used within one year of the date of the award;
- The Music School will mail the grant directly to the organization sponsoring the winner's project;
- Each winner must supply a digital photograph of him/herself;
- Each winner must send a letter to The Music School of Delaware, Estella Hillersohn Frankel Scholarship Committee, reporting on the use of the scholarship award and its value to the student by October 31, 2025.

Past Winners

2024	Avkaash Chevli (1st place)		Elad Gutman (2nd place)		Alvin Teng
2023	Ethan Xie (1st place)		Hannah Cho (3rd place)		David Hindin
	Ian Carr (2nd place)	2011	Alexis Meschter		Aaron Meng
	Avkaash Chevli (3rd place)		Hiroto Saito		Alvin Teng
2022	Maxwell Brown (1st place)		Marius Sander		(tied for 2nd place)
	Grace Opong (2nd place)		(tied for 1st place)	1999	Weiyang Sun (1st place)
	Freya Price (3rd place)		Emma Scott (2nd place)		David Hindin (2nd place)
2021	Gabriela Salvador-Riera	2010	Nathan Lowman (1st place)	1998	Patricia Moon (1st place)
	(1st place)		Emma Scott (2nd place)		Weifang Sun (2nd place)
	Maxwell Brown (2nd place)	2009	Carolyn Lee	1997	Jamie MacPherson
2020	Grace Opong (1st place)		Elizabeth Ries		Jia Jia Zhang
	Gabriela Salvador-Riera		(tied for 1st place)		(tied for 1st place)
	Annabelle Wei		Yu-Ju Park	1996	Ben Shute (1st place)
	(tied for 2nd place)		(honorable mention)		Jia Jia Zhang
	Maxwell Brown	2008	Frank Chou (1st place)		Weiyang Sun
	(honorable mention)		Justin Ying (2nd place)		(tied for 2nd place)
2019	Daniel Qi (1st place)		Alyssa Blackstone (3rd place)	1995	David Kim (1st place)
	Annabelle Wei (2nd place)		Rachyl Duffy		Patricia Moon (2nd place)
	Anagha Kapsi (3rd place)		(honorable mention)	1994	Andrew Yang (1st place)
2018	Vibha Janakiraman		Nathan Lowman		David Kim (2nd place)
2017	Juliana Castillo (1st place)		(honorable mention)	1993	Jane Hoffman (1st place)
	Saakshi Navile (2nd place)	2007	Sarah Park (1st place)		Priyanka Nath
2016	Eric Gao (1st place)		Rachyl Duffy (2nd place)		Nicole Quon
	Saakshi Navile	2006	Frank Chou (1st place)		(tied for 2nd place)
	Juliana Castillo		Florence Ling (2nd place)	1992	Lisa Ahramjian
	(tied for 2nd place)		Justin Field		Hallie Boyle
2015	Chris Dahlke (1st place)		(honorable mention)		(tied for 1st place)
	Ananya Muthukrishnan	2005	Genia Maslov (1st place)	1991	Heather Boyle (1st place)
	(2nd place)		Alyssa Blackstone		Lisa Ahramjian (2nd place)
2014	Nathan Lowman		(tied for 2nd place)		Amanda Pong (3rd place)
	Conor McAvinue		Frank Chou	1990	Thomas Kang (1st place)
	Eric Gao	•	(tied for 2nd place)		Heather Boyle
	(tied for 1st place)	2004	Cyrus Ebnesajjad (1st place)		Jane Hoffman
	Marius Sander	2002	David Brown (2nd place)	4000	(tied for 2nd place)
	Saakshi Naville	2003	Jessica Bowman	1989	Andrea Geimeir
2012	(honorable mentions)		Genia Maslov (tied for 1st place)	1987	Annemarie Burk
2013	Chris Dahlke (1st place)		Alyssa Schultheis	1986	David Cheng
	David Clark	2004	(honorable mention)	1985	Cynthia Dolgas
	Nathan Lowman	2001	Justin Field	1984	Tonya Richardson
2012	(tied for 2nd place)		Myra Pong	1983	Jennifer Haas
2012	Conor McAvinue (1st place)		(tied for 1st place)		